About the Artist

Nikas Safronov

Honoured Artist of Russia, Academician of the Russian Academy of Arts, Professor at Ulyanovsk State University. Born in 1956 in Ulyanovsk, since the 80s he lives and works in Moscow. He graduated from the Vilnius Art Institute and Moscow State Academic Art Institute named after V. Surikov, the Russian Academy of Arts.

Nikas Safronov was born in 1956 in Ulyanovsk in a retired officer family of modest means. In high school, he got involved in drawing, but at that time he did not think about making art his life’s work. So, he chose the Odessa Naval School for post-secondary education.

But soon he left his studies, did the military service in the missile forces and then moved to his mother’s homeland Panevezys (Lithuania), where he worked as a theatre designer. Later he moved to Vilnius, where he began his studies and a career as an artist.

Later, Nikas graduated from the Surikov Institute and remained forever in Moscow. Since 1973, he actively creates, exhibits and sells his works, and from his first personal exhibition in 1978 in Panevezys becomes known as a bright surrealist, portraitist and experimenter.

Nikas’s popularity was brought by a series of psychological portraits of his contemporaries and his Dream Vision direction. The professionalism and richness of Nikas Safronov’s work are recognized by the state and public awards.

For achievements in painting, Nikas Safronov was awarded titles:

  • Honoured Artist of Russia
  • Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Arts
  • Professor of Ulyanovsk State University
  • etc.

О художнике

Никас Сафронов

Заслуженный художник России, академик РАХ, профессор Ульяновского государственного университета. Родился в 1956 году в Ульяновске, с 80-х годов живет и работает в Москве. Закончил Вильнюсский художественный институт и МГФХИ им. В.И.Сурикова.

Никас Сафронов родился в 1956 году в Ульяновске в небогатой семье отставного военного. Учась в общеобразовательной школе, он самостоятельно увлекся рисованием, но о том, чтобы делать изобразительное искусство делом своей жизни, он в то время не задумывался и по окончании школы поступил в Одесское мореходное училище.

Но вскоре он оставил учебу, отслужил срочную службу в ракетных войсках и переехал на родину матери в литовский Паневежис, где работал театральным оформителем, а позже – в Вильнюс, где начал обучение и карьеру живописца.

Позже Никас окончил Суриковский институт и навсегда остался в Москве. С 1973 года он активно пишет, выставляет и продает свои работы, и со своей первой персональной выставки 1978 года в Паневежисе становится известен как яркий сюрреалист, портретист и экспериментатор.

Широкую известность Никасу принесли серии психологических портретов современников и собственное направление Dream Vision. Профессионализм и содержательность творчества Никаса Сафронова отмечены государственными и общественными наградами.

За достижения в живописи Никас Сафронов удостоен званий:

  • Заслуженный художник России
  • Академик Российской академии Художеств
  • Профессор Ульяновского государственного университета
  • а также множество государственных и общественных наград